When will it be okay?

When you’re with someone that is currently going through a divorce/separation, when is it okay to just be?

I feel as if I’m tiptoeing around at times, or walking on eggshells, just to make sure I don’t aggravate an already sensitive situation. A situation that really has nothing to do with me, but has been carried out in such a way to be emphasizing an involvement that isn’t mine.

For those, who need a bit of catching up; my best friend and his wife split, and lo and behold him and I discovered romantic feelings were there. Because of an already close friendship beforehand, the ex has assumed that we were carrying on before the marriage ended (but to be clear, this wasn’t the sole reason of the marriage ending). It’s made it quite an emotionally charged situation for everyone. And I empathize from all angles, I really do.. She is convinced in her assumption, which I get, it’s easiest to direct anger and blame at an outside source; so she is feeling betrayed (even if incorrectly so) by her husband and an acquaintance (me, as her and I were friends through her husband)…

Prince Charming, well, he’s trying to get closure on his marriage and amicable arrangement for custody, agreements, etc. all the while trying to cultivate a new relationship; it’s challenging to have to filter part of your new relationship. You want to be excited, but there’s the looming caution of being careful to not upset the ex and to be sensitive to the situation. The poor guy is really getting it from both sides.

And then there’s, me… I feel badly to be used as an excuse [one of] for the breakdown of a relationship; sadly, as in love as I am, I would’ve given anything for Prince Charming to have happiness and love with his family unit intact….And sometimes I feel insecure because of the filtering that is going on; and by nature I’m not an insecure person, so this is a new experience for me. I’ve spent some time now being careful, not to be around for child pick up/drop off as to not upset anything; I have filtered and removed things from social media that are really harmless, and have had no intent of malice (but were pointed out that “could be” upsetting, just because it’s me that posted it).

So I wonder… When will it be okay? When can Prince Charming and I operate freely and openly as a couple, without the fear of what upset it could cause? Enough time must’ve passed by now for it to be “acceptable” for moving on, as the ex now has someone in her life. (Not that I keep tabs on her love life, but not much is secret with a two year old around, lol… plus eventually the new fella was introduced to Prince Charming, so it’s made evident to him and he gets to know whom is around his daughter)..

When will be okay to share on social media the super cute moments I capture on film of Prince Charming and his wee Princess, so friends and family can see and comment? I haven’t even thought to post a photo of him and I, not that we have any, but when will that be okay? When will it be okay to meet his family (though I’ve already met some due to our friendship)? Another point of social media, the relationship status thing, when is that okay to change? Not that it’s a huge point, but I’m happy and proud about who I’m with, and I’d like the world knowing we’re connected.

I understand our situation is sensitive… And I’m reasonable, logical, and empathetic about the whole thing and everyone involved.. But sometimes I just feel like stomping my feet and shouting, in true tantrum, “it’s not fair, when will it be okay?”…I almost feel like we are stunted in growth as a couple by this.. My actions/feelings affect him and I, that’s normal and to be expected.. My actions/feelings affect his child, also to be expected that’s part of him and his life and number one priority… But then my actions/feelings affect the ex-wife too, I have to be considerate there, and I’m not sure that is normal, or at least it hasn’t been for any of my past relationships. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’ve never been a bitch to any of my past partner’s exes, not my style as they didn’t do anything to me. But my life feels too involved around her.

I know we will get past this, perhaps it’s just more time (and patience on my part) needed. We talk frequently about feelings surrounding this, and thank goodness Prince Charming can keep patience with me while I’m passionately (at times) discussing things. But my emotions are so up and down with this, another trait I’ve developed that I’m not used to.

But I still wonder… almost daily…

When will it be okay?

Still learning….

3 comments on “When will it be okay?

  1. This is tough… How long has it been?

    I think as far as pictures or experiences with his child, you might need to wait as long as possible. There’s nothing more heart wrenching while going through the feeling of heartbreak to watch your child being with someone else. You seem kind enough to want to not hurt the ex and carry good in you to not want to make a shirt situation worse. Do you think that’s because you know her?

    As far as you and him, you do when you think it’s right. He’s yours now. She shouldn’t be on your social media or anything like that. Be sensitive to him and classy as you are and enjoy what you have. I feel like first relationships post divorce are always the toughest because you have to go through all the “firsts”. You have the good fortune of having been best friends so you should be able to get through it all as a team. Xo

    • Oh I would never post pictures with me in them, that is insensitive if too soon….they were pictures of him and his daughter, I guess it would just be known that I was the photographer…
      It is challenging though, we will get through it in time..I guess I’m just venting here..
      Thank you for reading and commenting…

  2. […] say time makes all the difference, and as I look back on posts earlier in the year I am happy to say that yes, yes it […]

Leave a Reply

