My response to “Women are Crazy (The way to lose your female readers)”

In response to:
“Women are Crazy (The way to lose your female readers)” a blog by Opinionated Man.

http://aopinionatedman.com/2015/03/12/women-are-crazy-the-way-to-lose-your-female-readers/

I’ve been following Opinionated Man (OM) for a while now, and I have to say when I first came across this guy on wordpress, I was intrigued by his “About” tagline : “My goal with this blog is to offend everyone in the world at least once with my words”… I followed with open mind and have thus far been challenged to think and made to laugh, but never offended. I appreciate his writing which is raw in the uttmost sense of the word, perhaps not filtering to be “PC” or edited to be “accepted” to the standard of society. That’s why I like and respect this blogger.

So when I read the above article title, I thought ah-ha an outward admittance to offending my gender!, this should be good. I ended up giggling and smirking, while being entertained at this take. In humour and good jest, I chose to write a response. While OM doesn’t know me personally, I hope he takes this in the good nature in which it was intended. As I’ve only written response in humour once before, but I was fortunate that the person knew me personally.

Where OM states women “pick arguments” on purpose, I wouldn’t call what we do intentional. When we become linked to a male, we don’t automatically take on their views or opinions. The days of women being seen and not heard are over my friend, and this pretty little head has a view of her own and will certainly share as much. We’re not testing, we’re not looking to “fix” something that’s broke necessarily; we are looking to communicate. Now maybe the timing of the argument… Well… Admittedly, that could be the test portion. We are way more important than Sportscenter, just sayin’! *grins sheepishly* Admittance is the first step, right? Do we pick arguments? Perhaps not… Do we test? Most likely…

As for asking questions we already know the answer to… Can’t a girl make sure she’s on the same page as her partner? Again, communication, this is a form of it! You repeat back information you already know, in the form of a question, to make sure both parties are of an understanding. As a woman, I understand things/see things differently; I’ve learned in my life never to assume someone else (especially of opposite gender) thinks the same way that I do… Now, unless you’re talking about questions that catch our counterparts in a lie or fib; this is giving men a chance to come clean about a possible deception… Admittedly again, test… But a worthy test. Or if it’s just something we’re asking you to maybe repeat (ie. Lie, smart ass remark, etc) , admittedly yes, another test, but we’re likely seeing if you have the balls to repeat it.

OM moves on further to say that the only input women are looking for in a dialogue is “you’re absolutely right honey”; this tells me that OM is most likely married and has been here before. This doesn’t mean we do not care about your opinion or input on a topic (although admittedly it would make life easier if it were the same as ours… happy wife=happy life, right?).. I find with men possessing the stubbornness that they do, they are also difficult to sway from a decision they have already made. They are also likely to tune us out to Sportscenter if we are on a topic they have no remote interest in… But then again, it’s probably when we timed it, wasn’t it? For shame on us! LOL I’m taking your occassional grunts (that you made while tuning me out, or the head nod) as acceptance for the living room redecorating I was just talking about! Note: Women, I’ve just had an epiphany, timing is everything! Thank you OM for pointing out unwillingness to argue/debate during Sportscenter. Men, beware of this trick, your laziness or lack of interest is enabling! 😉

In his final point, I would say this is a no brainer. Of course you shouldn’t side with someone that is making life difficult for your partner. Should a woman come to you with her social or work related drama, she’s looking for you to listen and support her. She is not looking for you to fix it, or offer sympathy to a party that is wronging her. I don’t think this makes her crazy, wanting support from her man. We support you. I’m sure at some point we’ve feigned optimism as you’ve driven somewhere “taking a detour”, instead of pleading with you to stop to ask for directions… Or that we’ve brought you a beer and smiled while you spend hours assembling that entertainment unit, without the instructions, that we’ve placed plainly in your view. Maybe this is where we are crazy? But no, we are calling this supportive 😉

In closing, where men love the aforementioned old adage “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it”.. Is this saying that if you continue to do nothing that your communication/relationship with your woman will grow/continue to get better? I know you admitted men can be lazy, but is this the way to go? Because I’d like to retort with Einstein’s definition of insanity : “Doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results”. Who’s crazy now?

Thanks OM for the good read. As said, I hope this is taken in the nature in which it was intended. I like to poke fun at times. Cheers, waitingforprincecharming

~Still learning….

15 comments on “My response to “Women are Crazy (The way to lose your female readers)”

  1. Reblogged this on HarsH ReaLiTy and commented:
    I’ll read this after SportsCenter. 😉 -OM
    Note: Comments disabled here, please visit their blog.

  2. interesting. support i like. the put downs and i told you so’s are something else! asking i like, complaining and lack of gratitude is a downer! you’re piece must have struck a chord or somut in me! 😛

  3. LOL! That was well done. Thanks, I enjoyed reading it. You made me laugh. A test? Well of course it’s a test, is that not the nature of women? 😉

  4. Tim Taylor says:

    Great retort …. wait, what did you say again? 😀

  5. I kind of get this but I don’t cam someone explain this to me???😅😅😅😅😅

  6. married2arod says:

    I use that line all the time ‘happy wife, happy life.’ lol. And I have totally done that to my husband, feigned interest in some weird youtube video that only men find funny or how he likes to give me details of commercial leases…not really interested. The funny thing is he knows when I’m phoning it in because he’s like “am I bugging you?” And I’m thinking “yes” but please continue on lol. The women who get offended by OM’s ‘women are crazy’ post are probably the crazy ones.

Leave a Reply

