A poem: The Gift

gift

I wonder who can handle me, or who will ever see;

I cannot offer stars or moon, I can only offer me.

This isn’t something small or slight, it is quite a prize;

Love and soul possess me, just look into my eyes.

You may see my passion, or a soul of old;

You may see a vibrant light, or a distant look of cold.

But if you try to look deeper, into my soul’s abyss;

You may come to understand me, and the hunger in my kiss.

I have loved much and deeply, and had it unreturned;

To this day my soul is calling, for which it always yearned.

A soul that calls to mine, and relishes in love;

A gentle hand and strong resolve, to place my heart above.

An equal to share life with, and grow in many ways;

Someone who follows promise, and actually stays.

So when you glance upon me, please remember this;

There is much more to me, than a body or a kiss.

I wonder who can handle me, or who will ever see;

I have a wondrous gift to give, it is the gift of me.

4 comments on “A poem: The Gift

  1. Ulana says:

    A precious gift indeed.

Leave a Reply

